National Merit Semifinalists Announced 2017-2018


Abby Turner

Four semifinalists have been announced by the National Merit Scholarship Cooperation. Seniors Lukas Cochran, Sarah Covell, Hannah Linzy, and Greta Olsen have been selected.

Close to 16,000 students were chosen nationwide. The four intellectuals each have the chance to advance in the competition for about 7,500 National Merit Scholarships totaling almost $33 million altogether.

In order to be considered for a Merit Scholarship® award, Semifinalists have to achieve various accomplishments to move forward in becoming finalists. Close to 90 percent of the Semifinalists are likely to achieve Finalist standing. 50 percent of Finalists will be awarded a National Merit Scholarship, as well as scoring the Merit Scholar® title.

Finalists are typically notified in early February.